ROAD TRIP : SAN FRANCISCO AGAIN

In 2006 I took a Road Trip from San Francisco to New Mexico and back over the course of a month, writing and taking photos all the way. Two years later I had a show of paintings based on those photographs. This is one of a series of twenty-nine posts of those paintings accompanied by the relevant diary entries.

045 hostel, san francisco, CA

Hostel, SF, oil on board, 8 x 9 inches (approx.)

28. May 22nd-24th, 2006

And so we are back at the Green Tortoise, full of the joys of…

I hate the snotty f**kers in this hostel yet I read the comments book and everyone is “wonderful”. What bullshit.

Last Impressions…

In the Laurel Inn one of the cleaners coming over to give me rags to clean my car. All of the staff, Mexican I think, so friendly. A man running barefoot on Market Street, lycra patterned shorts, blood pressure monitor, past me and straight into the Renoir Hotel. Lots of men hanging out at the YMCA on Golden Gate Street. Bus 45 from Chinatown-people pushing and shoving and no one making room for anyone. Letting bikers pass me on the road to Half Moon Bay and getting a wave from the last one. A weasel, running into the road and stopping-I swerved, dammit, I couldn’t kill another one. Putting my feet in the Pacific on Pomona beach. A tall, straight, rake thin, man with a black wool hat and a checked jacket walking down Market Street with a cap in his hand. The skyline at night. Sitting on the step at Bartol Street.

Then, saying goodbye to the car. I got tearful…this is what happens when you spend too much time alone. But…heย did take me all over and protected me

Thanks car.

044 beat cafe, san francisco, CA

Beat Cafe, SF, oil on board,9 x 7 inches (approx.)

046 cable car, san francisco, CA

Cable Car, SF, oil on board, 9 x 7 inches (approx.)

5 responses to “ROAD TRIP : SAN FRANCISCO AGAIN

  1. I like the painting with the cable car.
    I think I would have cried if I gave back a car I’d spent a month in driving through spectacular scenery.

Leave a Reply

