ROAD TRIP : BIG SUR BIRTHDAY

In 2006 I took a Road Trip from San Francisco to New Mexico and back over the course of a month, writing and taking photos all the way. Two years later I had a show of paintings based on those photographs. This is one of a series of twenty-nine posts of those paintings accompanied by the relevant diary entries.

040 big sur birthday lunch, highway 1, CA

Big Sur Birthday, oil on board, 8 x 9 inches (approx.)

25. May 18th, 2006.

I stopped for lunch at the Whale Watcher Cafe at Gorda. There was a guy working on the grounds, pony tailed, moustached, grizzled. As I was eating he came up to my table and wordlessly left a red rose beside my plate and walked off. The universe knows it’s my birthday…

I still have  a dried rose petal from that rose, romantic that I am…

8 responses to “ROAD TRIP : BIG SUR BIRTHDAY

  1. …your comments are sometimes so odd April…but thanks for the good wishes…it was yesterday..or at least the date of this post 🙂 🙂

  2. I think it’s a bit creepy, but that’s me. You work for a while in a legal department of a large company and you realise that you’re being paid to imagine the worst.

Leave a Reply

