MAN ON A BIKE:YVES KLEIN

man-on-a-bicycle

I have been immersed in my dissertation for my Visual Art degree for the last few months. Actually it would be more accurate to say I have been struggling in it like a drowning person struggles to get to land, hanging onto every piece of distracting flotsam and jetsam I can find. My cartoon output has gone through the roof, my blog posts have become regular (on other blogs anyway) for the first time ever. I have run a half marathon. Been a part of three exhibitions. Built a bird table. Anything but writing about art. I like to joke that if I had been asked to produce a book of cartoons I would have ended up with a closely typed, excellently cited tome of unsurpassed academia-ness (is that a word?). But time is getting short and I am finally getting stuck in. Unfortunately I have to look at a lot of pictures. Like Yves Klein jumping from a building. And then my head takes off again…

Every day I cycle to the factory.
Push. Push. Push.
Every day, I cycle home.
Push. Push. Push.
Béatrice pounds the grey dough.
Thump. Thump. Thump.
Complains of her knees.
Thump.Thump.Thump.
Curses her bowels.
Thump!Thump!Thump.
Her cousin:
Putáin!Putain!Putain!
Louise.
Louise. Louise.Louise
***
On your bike she said.Louise.
On your bike and go.
And I went.
Push. Push. Push.
Down grey streets.
…push. Push. Push.
Down. Down.Down…
…push. Push. Push.
Push.
***
There!
Klein takes flight.
Into the blue.
The world changes.
The man on the bike unseeing
as he pedals slowly home.

klein

Leave a Reply

