COMING OUT OF HIBERNATION

TREE STUDY oil on board 9 x 4 inches approx

TREE STUDY oil on board 9 x 4 inches approx

I don’t know what it is about Christmas but though I always have a lot of time off(which I don’t want) and though I always resolve to get lots of painting done nothing happens. And then we turn though the corner into January and the light starts to come back and somehow, though the passage from the old year to the new year is the same as the passage from one day to the next, I feel renewed and refreshed and ready to plough into another year of  long periods of wondering why I am not painting dotted with bursts and flashes of occasional painting.

I finished off three oil studies of trees last week as well as two paintings I had started in November last year. I am still not sure which direction I will take in my work this year but I am thinking I will head off in three different directions, as is my wont, and see what happens.

NYLON AND STEEL TWO oil on canvas 10 x 10 inches

NYLON AND STEEL TWO oil on canvas 10 x 10 inches

NYLON AND STEEL ONE oil on canvas 10 x 10 inches

NYLON AND STEEL ONE oil on canvas 10 x 10 inches

In the mean time I’m still scribbling in my sketchpad. Nothing interesting or different just whatever I find myself parked in front of usually a cup of tea or a chair..WAITING

I was In T-Bay Surf Centre cafe doing just this one day in December when local artist John Gallagher approached me. He saw I was using a Staedtler fibre tipped pen which I like but which annoyingly wears down very quickly. He took out a Uni Pin fineliner to recommend to me. When I tried to give it back he said, “No, you keep it.” How cool was that?Thanks John.

THE VIC

THE VIC

JANUARY 11TH AD INFINTUM

JANUARY 11TH AD INFINTUM

Leave a Reply

